The Kosher Gastronome

Livin' the kosher dream

One pot linguine with tomato, shallots, and basil

DSC_6059

I’m usually not a recipe person. I don’t often see a specific recipe and say I need to try that. I’m more a technique guy. When I read through food magazines its usually for ideas and not specific recipes, knowhatimean? It’s crazy because I remember my mother listening to Arthur Schwartz on the radio every Friday afternoon, and I hated it, mainly because I never understood why she would be listening if most of the stuff they’re talking about doesn’t apply to us anyway! Now I understand, it’s about taking away ideas. Where am I going with this you ask? Well recently I saw this recipe for pasta…pretty boring I know, except the technique was pretty cool and different. Just dump your pasta, vegetables and water in a pot and let it cook away. I was intrigued, and surprised when it actually worked.

So, you know how usually I go on and on about random boring science-y stuff? Well not today. No, today I bring you just a pretty neat way to cook a really quick dinner.

Being the 9 days, I feel like we’re all scrambling to try and find ways to somehow manage without meat. I for one, don’t think it’s such a big deal, I enjoy eating dairy, but for those scrambling, this is a really easy recipe, that can be put together in literally 10 minutes.

So anyway, I saw this in Living magazine, and was really intrigued. I’m not sure how much more random banter I can spew so I can pretend this will be longer than it actually is, because really all you have to do is throw some linguine in a pan, with some water, and some other vegetables, bring it to a boil, and let it cook until it’s done. I know that sounds hard, but it’s not. I guess the only difficult part is knowing how much water to put in per amount of pasta. The recipe pretty much calls for 1 and 1/4 cups of water for every 3 ounces of pasta, which worked great. But I’ve made it since then, and didn’t use exact measurements, and it also worked out great.

DSC_6058

One thing to note, as the pasta cooks, it will look like there’s too much water; Don’t worry, keep going. As the water cooks, the starches from the pasta will also thicken the water, and in the end it will all work out.

For this recipe, I used shallots, tomatoes, garlic, and some frozen basil. But I’ve also used mushrooms, tomatoes, and basil…really any quick cooking vegetable will work.

After it was done a generous helping of freshly grated parmesan never hurt anyone.

So bottom line – I know it’s tough trying to mourn the destruction of the Bais Hamikdosh by trying to come up with dairy meals for like 1 whole week! I know…but maybe this can help.

One pot linguine with tomato, shallots, and basil

Adapted from this recipe

Note: I scaled the recipe down to serve just one person, but I’ll include recipe to feed 4 from the Living website. But feel free to scale up and down as needed

Ingredients:

  • 12 ounces Linguine (or any pasta for that matter…I think your best bet is a long thing type, like spaghetti, fettucini, etc..)
  • 12 ounces cherry/grape tomatoes, halved  (I used regular plum tomatoes)
  • 1-2 medium shallots , thinly sliced (original recipe calls for regular onions, but I like the taste of shallots a little better in quick cooking applications, but as always feel free to do whatever the heck you want!)
  • 4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 teaspoon red-pepper flakes
  • 2 sprigs basil, plus torn leaves for garnish (I didn’t have fresh basil, so I used frozen…don’t tell anyone)
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, plus more for serving
  • 2 tsp Salt
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • 4 1/2 cups water
  • Freshly grated Parmesan cheese, for serving (Please don’t use the pre-grated crap)

Directions:

  1. Place pasta, tomatoes, shallots, garlic, red pepper flakes, basil, olive oil, salt and pepper, and water into a skillet (If the noodles don’t fit, then just break them until they do) over high heat until it boils, and continue to cook for about another 9 minutes, until the water has nearly evaporated.
  2. Garnish with freshly grated parmesan

6 responses to “One pot linguine with tomato, shallots, and basil

  1. rachayl haber July 10, 2013 at 6:55 am

    love that last line. “i scaled down the recipe for 1″ that actually was the best line.  you should write “now that my wife is anorexic, i no longer cook for her”. feel free to send leftovers to us instead :) 

    ________________________________

  2. ZDT July 10, 2013 at 10:36 am

    Perfect idea for dinner tonight – thanks!

  3. ZDT July 10, 2013 at 10:37 am

    I meant to ask if you could make this in a large pasta pot

  4. Pingback: Another one pot noodle thingamabob…plus a link up | The Kosher Gastronome

Leave a Reply

