Cinnamon Buns

Is it just me or do you also get this craving to make cinnamon buns on a fast day? Every fast day, when I try to come up with a project to pass the time, I automatically think of cinnamon buns…I have no idea why.

It’s kinda scary, this is the 5th post, and of the 5, 3 of them are dessert…I think I should re-name the blog to the kosher glutton, but I digress.

Are you familiar with  the story of the donkey who starved to death because he was surrounded by 7 equal bales of hay, and couldn’t decide which one to eat, so he starved to death?? Yeah, that’s me…with everything…I can’t make my mind up. I knew I wanted to make cinnamon buns, but which recipe should I use? I tried looking one up in the “Art of Cooking” but the only recipe in there was for sticky buns, and I had made them last year (another fast day…honestly, it’s a problem), and I wanted something new and different. I then went to my handy dandy google reader. For all of those who don’t know what google reader is, basically it’s one central site that has all the web sites I like to check, and since all I do on line is read food blogs all day, I searched on my google reader for “cinnamon buns,” and a ton came up, hence I was the donkey, and I was starving to death (that might have been the lack of food…). Some how I ended up on Our Best Bites, and her recipe for everyday cinnamon rolls. It seemed fairly simple, not so much waiting time, and best of all, I had all of the ingredients.

I started out by taking a cup of milk (I used whole, because I had some leftover from my ice cream, and I’ve been trying to use it up) and cutting up 4 tablespoons of butter into small chunks and putting it into the microwave for a minute and a half to melt the butter.

A good tip – save 1/4 cup of the cold milk, and only put in 3/4 cup milk with the butter, so when it comes out of the microwave, you can cool it off quicker with the 1/4 cup.

Then I took 2 cups of regular flour, 2 1/4 teaspoons (1 packet) of yeast (there’s no need to proof the yeast first in warm water, the warm milk-butter mixture will do that in just a bit, chill man…), 1/4 cup sugar, and 1 teaspoon salt, and whisked it all together, and poured in the cooled milk-butter mixture, and an egg, and combined with paddle attachment in my mix-master-flex.

I then switched to the dough hook (to knead the dough), and added the remaining flour. The recipe calls for anywhere between 3 1/4 and 3 1/2 cups of flour, and it said to try to not use too much flour, so I only added another 1 1/4 cup, and let it knead away.

At this point it was really sticky, and I was overcoming any urge to add more flour, and just dumped the whole thing on the counter.

I then kneaded it a little more by hand, all the while sprinkling flour and pixie dust over it, so that it wasn’t sticky. When I was done with it, it was a nice little ball of dough, that kept an indentation of my fingers when pressed in

I rolled it out, to a rectangle of about 12 x 14 inches

Now onto the filling. On her website it said to just soften 1/2 cup of butter, and combine with 1 cup brown sugar, and 1 1/2 tablespoons cinnamon. Instead, I melted the butter, and instead of a half cup (one stick), I used 6 tablespoons (basically it was the rest of the stick that I had used for the dough…now being that I know my brother, Baruch at this point is thinking: wait a minute, he said he used 4 T for the dough, and there’s 8 T in a stick of butter, so how does that leave you with 6?? Great question Baruch, to be honest, I originally had 2 T of butter lying around, and combine with 2 from this stick  to make 4T, and now I have 6, kapish? so that’s why I used 6 T), and took the melted butter and poured it on the dough, and smeared it all over. K’mo zeh.

I then took the cup of brown sugar, the cinnamon (which I didn’t bother measuring…I just sprinkled as I saw fit), and because I felt like it, I sprinkled another 1/4 C of white sugar. It’s my cinnamon roll, I can do what I want, when I want.

Rolled it up

and cut it up

I know, not the prettiest thing, but it all rises together, and all those uneven rolls, meet up with one another…such mussar haskel (that’s the real reason I made it on Tisha B’av…you didn’t know I was that frum, did you?)

Then, we wait  for the carbon dioxide to do it’s trick (ie let the dough rise)…another tip I got from that web site was to take a cup of water, and put it in the microwave for like 2 minutes, and then after it’s done, stick this tray in there to rise (with the microwave off). The warm, moist, closed environment is a good place for the yeast to go to town on the sugars in the flour (as the yeast eats up the sugars present, they release carbon dioxide, and those bubbles get trapped in the gluten network of the dough, and forces it to rise…so now you know all risen breads come from yeast’s flatulence…charming no?)

The web site says to leave it in for 30 minutes, but I left it in for longer (because the fast wasn’t over yet…), and in the meantime I made the icing, or frosting…what’s the difference?

I took 1 cup of confectioner sugar, 2 T melted butter, 1/2 t vanilla extract, combined it all, and poured in just enough milk for it to come together.

They look like they’re dying to get out

Bake at 350 for like 15-20 minutes (mine went for 20 mins), and serve with icing/frosting/amazingness drizzled on top, thusly

I’m gonna go as far and say, that this was probably the best baked dish I have ever made. Bold statement, but you should’ve been there, it was magical. Till next time.

Any suggestions on what to make next?

_________________________________________________

Cinnamon Buns

Dough:

1 cup milk
4 Tbs butter, cut into chunks
3 1/4 – 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, divided
2 1/4 tsp yeast (or one package)
1/4 cup white sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 egg
Filling:
1 cup brown sugar, packed
1/4  cup white sugar
1 1/2 tablespoon ground cinnamon
6 T butter, melted
Icing/Filling:
1  C powdered sugar
2 T melted butter
1/2 tsp vanilla
1-2 Tbs milk
8 thoughts on “Cinnamon Buns

  1. Noss, these look insanely good and i’m sure they were delish too! Love reading the science behind the cooking….here in NY apts there is no need to stick the dough in the microwave..the kitchens are so hot without a/c they would rise naturally on the counter..how about you come to cook in our apt to test out your next recipe?!

    Like

  2. C’mon! That is the only shout-out I get!
    Looks great.
    Somehow, I think Bobby’s were a little different. And, when did you become such a fan of butter?
    Wonder what it would be like pareve-ized?

    Like

    1. Why is that a bad shout out??
      Yah I dunno if bobby’s was the same…last time I made them I made them parve, but I had the butter, and it tastes better! I’m trying to make a pro-butter movement, who’s in?

      Like

Leave a Reply

