Mustard Chicken

I’m trying to better my ways, and post some non-dairy, non-dessert type stuff. I made this for Ayelet and I for Friday night dinner, and it was pretty good, and it’s a really simple recipe. However, I don’t have many pictures, sorry but as always it was getting quite hectic before shabbos.

Anyway, I honestly can’t even remember where I found this recipe. I remember seeing it once, and I wrote it down figuring it would be a good dish to try. The recipe was for 4 chicken legs, but being that it was only us two, I only made it with two legs. And the recipe is as simple as put ingredients in bowl, mix, put on chicken, place in oven, do nothing, take it out of the oven, and eat. I like the do nothing part, that’s the part I’m the best at.

The mixture to put on the chicken is: dijon mustard, thyme and sage, and  salt and pepper, mix to combine (exact recipe below). I used some fresh thyme from my porch, and dried sage (becuase I was too lazy to go out to the store to get fresh sage…it came out a little on the thyme-ey side, but good none the less). Pat the chicken dry, and spoon the mustard mix onto it. Sprinkle 1/3 of a cup of panko bread crumbs on top. Put in to 325 degree oven , and bake for 1.5-2 hours, and that’s it.

Enjoy

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Mustard Chicken


Ingredients:
4 chicken legs (thighs included, about 2 1/2 pounds) or 8 drumsticks
2 teaspoons chopped fresh thyme and sage
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
4 tablespoons Dijon mustard
1/3 cup panko or whole wheat breadcrumbs

Preparation:

1. Heat the oven to 325 degrees.

2. Rinse the chicken legs and pat them dry. In a separate bowl, mix together the herbs and the mustard. Season the legs well with salt and pepper. Spread the mustard mixture over the skin side of each leg to coat thinly. Lay the legs in a shallow baking dish, leaving space between them. Sprinkle evenly with the panko or breadcrumbs.

3. Roast 1 1/2 to 2 hours, or until the meat is very tender and the coating is crisp.

Leave a Reply

