Parve/Vegan Pad Thai

Guess who’s on vacation? me…how’d you guess? weird….anyway, I’m not really sure why the first thing I decided to make was pad thai…I mean, it’s not like I’m such a huge fan of pad thai, but honestly I couldn’t think of anything to make, and my mom brought me some brown rice pad thai noodles, so I guess that settled it.

I always do the same thing, in like a minute I’ll make the decision to make something, and then I start running around looking for recipes, then ingredients, etc…I’m just off the cuff like that. So I googled “vegan pad thai” and came up with a few options.

The main problem with making pad thai parve/vegan/kosher is that one of the main ingredients is fish sauce. Which is made out of fermented fish, ie not kosher. But luckily enough the ingredients for vegan recipes don’t include fish sauce. Most of the recipes called for tamarind paste, which I thought I would be able to find in the Fresh Market, but when I asked them if they had tamarind paste, they brought me to the tahini…why? I don’t know, but bottom line, they had no idea what I was talking about. I had to go to plan B, the recipe without tamarind paste.

I found this recipe on ehow.com.

Cook some pad thai noodles, any flat noodle long noodle like fettucini should be fine.

The recipe (exact recipe below) called for extra firm tofu cut into cubes, and sauteed in olive oil until browned, and then throw in some garlic for the last 30 seconds or so.

Then take the cooked noodles, thrown them into the pot of tofu, and combine: srirachi (more on that in a bit), rice vinegar, soy sauce, and brown sugar, and stir and cook for 5 more minutes.

Srirachi is chili sauce…really freaking hot chili sauce. I mean this stuff is hot.

This is what it looks like –

You’d think I would know its super hot, being that the only english word on the dang thing was “HOT”!..beats me why there’s a picture of a chicken on there…

Moving right along…I then chopped up some scallions, and peanuts,

and took this money shot

I took the noodles off the flame, threw it together with the scallions and peanuts, and some bean sprouts.

Ta-Da

I topped it with the juice of like a 1/4 of a lime, and i shredded one basil leaf (fresh of course! from the porch).

The original recipe doesn’t call for basil, but in my opinion it really brought a lot of flavor to the dish, and complemented it very well.

kinda puts you in the mood for some margaritas, right?

And then I ate it. And it went something like this:

Waaaay too much sriracha sauce…the recipe calls for 2 tablespoons of chili sauce, and I didn’t really measure, I just squirted the bottle in, but I’m pretty good at eyeballing, and I’m pretty sure it wasn’t more than 2 tablespoons, so I dunno, maybe they meant 2 tablespoons of another type of chili sauce? I dunno…but definitely they did not mean 2 tablespoons of this stuff, because my lips are still burning. (My eyes are burning also, but that could be because I’m bawling from watching the bachlorette…there’s no sarcastic font, so I’ll just hope you realized I was being sarcastic).

All in all, besides being waay too spicy, the dish was pretty tasty, but was lacking something, maybe some fermented fish???

Vegan Pad Thai

  • Extra-Firm tofu – 1 package …(I used a half of a package)
  • Olive Oil – 2 tbsp
  • chopped garlic – 1 tbsp
  • Pad Thai Noodles – 1 package / 8 oz
  • sriracha sauce – 1 teaspoon (see above)
  • brown sugar 2 tbsp
  • rice vinegar – 1/8 cup
  • soy sauce – 1/8 cup
  • chopped peanuts – 1/2 cup
  • scallions – 1/2 bunch
  • bean sprouts – 2 cups
  • juice of 1/4 of a lime
  • 1 basil leaf (optional)

Directions –

  1. Drain and cube tofu. Meanwhile, boil the noodles, drain and set aside.
  2. Pan fry the tofu in the olive oil over medium high heat until lightly golden brown. When tofu is just about finished, add the garlic and stir for 30 seconds or so, but don’t burn. Remove from heat.
  3. Add the noodles from step 1 to the tofu pan and place over medium heat.
  4. Add the sriracha, brown sugar, soy sauce, rice vinegar to the pan. Stir continuously and cook over medium heat for about 5 minutes.
  5. Stir in the bean sprouts, scallions and peanuts.
  6. Serve immediately with juice of lime and scallions-peanuts on top, and if you want (and you should) some basil.

22 thoughts on “Parve/Vegan Pad Thai

    1. I knew that you and tzvi had used that sauce…I just never bought it because I wasn’t sure what to do with it..I also saw you can use that sauce to make a good spicy mayo
      Have you ever tried making that vegan fish sauce?

      Like

      1. Yes and no. We have reduced them in soy in order to use the mushrooms in sushi. The real problem is that I would have no basis of comparison. Any good goyim around?

        Like

      1. Since my man-liness is beyond reproach ( I was cited on this website as “meat being my thing”), I will defend Nossi.

        Tofu is delicious when prepared correctly! Can you imagine a Hot and Sour soup without it? (Nossi — hint for next post. I have tried many times, and it never came our quite right).

        Like

  1. Probably the spiciest thing I have ever tasted, my lips were burning! However no complaints when my brother brings his leftovers to my house!

    Like

  2. i really wanted to try some pad thai,i brought you some rice noodles from israel, could you try the recipe on everyday food, esther said its delicious

    Like

  3. had the exact same problem with the kosher fish sauce!
    but if you ever come into NYC there are plenty of places to find tamarind!

    Like

    1. Thanks…yeah i’ve heard there’s tamarind available, I was shocked that the not kosher store didn’t even know what tamarind was…but maybe next time I’m up there I’ll grab some and make it that much more real next time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

