Anyberry Cobbler Bar

Don’t you judge me…I can see you sitting there judging me, well don’t.

I saw this recipe on a website called  Framed a while ago, and made a mental note to one day, maybe some day, come back, and make this thing. There was some certain appeal to this, it’s not a cookie, its not a pie or a cake, it’s a bar. I don’t even know what that means, but so it shall be written.

Anyway, Ayelet and I went to Larriland Farms on Sunday to go fruit picking, and we came home with approximately 45 bushels of raspberries, and a silo and half of blackberries. It was a ton of berries, and I was looking around the inter-nyet to see what I could possibly do with these thingamabobs. I decided on two things one being an ice cream (guess what the next post is going to be…), and can  you guess what else I decided to make? I sincerely hope you answered “anyberry cobbler bar” because if not, I think you’re missing the point of this little game.

The original recipe used blueberries, which I also used, but I wanted to get rid include these other berries.  Also, as usual, I kept this dish parve, I figured it would be more beneficial to my fellow mouseketeers if it was parve.

Moving right along …the recipe calls for 3 sticks of butter. That’s a lot, and for some reason 3 sticks of margarine sounds even more. So I decided to tweak the dough. Instead of 3 sticks of margarine, I settled on 1.5 sticks, and for the rest of the fat, I threw in 2 eggs.

One of the cool things in this recipe was the sugar. I know, sugar being cool? who knew…but I thought it was pretty interesting. For the sugar, she took the zest of two lemons and shmooshed it all together with the sugar. Kind of like infusing the lemon into the sugar, and in the final product, the lemon really stood out nicely. I took the sugar, and dumped it out, and zested the lemons right on top of it.

Then, with a bench scraper, I just shmooshed it all together, until it was evenly distributed…like this

Now to make the doughy part. I took the sugar and creamed it with the margarine in the kitchen aid with the paddle attachment. Dumped in the flour, and vanilla extract, and once incorporated, I added the eggs one at a time.

I took this mixture, minus about a cup and half of this, which I saved for later, and spread it on the bottom of my pan, to cook for 15 minutes or so at 350.

While that was cooking away, I made the filling.

I whisked together the eggs and sugar, then the sour cream, and flour with a pinch of salt,

and after that was combined, I folded in the berries. I then poured the whole shooting match onto the now-cooked bottom part,

and then topped with the rest of the dough mixture.

I let it bake for about 50 minutes, and kapow, you got yourself some berry cobbler pie.

For all those who stuck around this long (hi mom and dad), because you’re super special, you get a sneak peak at the next post. That ice cream up there you see next to the cobbler bar is what I made, so stay tuned.

But back to the dessert for a second (you thought I was done didn’t you…). Like I said earlier, I tweaked this so that it didn’t have 3 sticks o`-heart-attack in it. The whole thing tasted amazing (I’m very modest), but in regards to the dough, I dunno if I did a superb job tweaking. Hear me out – instead of using the margarine, I opted for eggs as the added fat it needed, and the dough came out very sticky, which made it hard to spread originally, and also made it hard to plop down on top of the sour cream mixture. Maybe I could have used another  egg, or some oil also, but I wasnt sure, and I didn’t want to risk ruining it. So what I’m trying to get at is – I’m open to suggestions what proportions you think works best (obviously the butter would be best…so I guess second best), or any suggestions.

Blueberry Cobbler Bars

adapted from Framed

Crust and Topping

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 sticks margarine cut into cubes

2 eggs

zest of two lemons

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

Berry Filling

4 large eggs

2 cups sugar

1 cup tofuti sour cream

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

pinch of salt

6 cups of mixed berries

(You can also use 2 (16-ounce) packages frozen mixed berries, defrosted and drained, or 1 (16-ounce) package frozen berries and 3 cups of fresh berries…basically, you can do what you please, because you’re a grown man for goodness sake)

To make the crust and topping-

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a half sheet baking pan (12×17-inch) with butter or cooking spray and set aside. If you use a 9×13-inch baking pan you’ll have thicker bars. Zest two lemons. Measure out the sugar onto a clean work surface. Rub the lemon zest into the sugar with a bench scraper or the back of a spoon. Rubbing the zest into the sugar will release oils from the zest and create a lemon scented sugar.

Cream the lemon sugar and margarine in an electric mixer fit with a paddle attachment. Add the flour, salt, eggs, and vanilla, and beat the ingredients on medium speed until combined.

Reserve 1 1/2 cups of the crust mixture to use as the topping. Spread the remaining mixture into the bottom of the pan. Bake the crust for 12 to 15 minutes until it is golden brown. Let cool for 10 minutes while you make the filling.

To make the filling-

Whisk the eggs in a large bowl. Add the sugar, sour cream, flour and salt. Gently fold in the berries. Spoon the mixture evenly over the crust. You may have to distribute the berries evenly around.

Sprinkle the reserved crust mixture evenly over the filling. Bake for 45 to 55 minutes until the top is lightly browned. Cool for 1 hour before slicing.

8 thoughts on “Anyberry Cobbler Bar

  1. this is right up your dads sweet tooth.
    maybe together with the blog there should be a company that delivers the fresh finish product to those that dont live nearby

    Like

Leave a Reply

