Raspberry Blackberry Ice cream

A few people have asked me if I post the stuff that don’t come out good. Well in answer to your question, I do. You see, I can lie to you and tell you that this ice cream came out delectable, but first of all, I figured if I tell you one thing that didn’t come out good, then obviously everything else must have come out amazing…It’s kind of like a meegu, and a kal v’chomer all in one (woah! didn’t think I would go there did you?). Second of all, if I lied and told you that it tasted amazingly, that would be gastronomical, however, it wouldn’t be kosher, and you see my friends, my name is the kosher gastronome, and I must strive to be kosher.

So about this ice cream. As my attentive readers will no doubt point out, I ate it the other day with my cobbler bar, so it couldn’t have been an epic failure like you’re trying to have us believe, rite? Well, that picture was right when it came out of the ice cream maker, and was pretty smooth, and frozen-yogurt-like. But, like most ice creams, you have to put it in the freezer to get it to that point of being hard, and soft at the same time. Where it’s smooth, and firm. Creamy and decadent…you get the point. Well, when I took it out of the freezer the next day, it was as hard as a rock, and I wasn’t able to scoop it out.

This recipe is from the New York Times food section, and it’s a really easy ice cream recipe, if you just follow it…which of course I didn’t, hence the failure. The whole recipe is heavy cream, berries, sugar, tiny bit of salt, and a little vodka.

Vodka?

Yes.

Um ok, why?

Oh, well why didn’t you just ask? Alcohol is something that is commonly added to ice cream recipes to lower the freezing point, so the ice cream doesn’t freeze up rock solid, because most home freezers don’t get low enough to actually freeze alcohol (that’s why we keep vodka in the freezer, and it doesn’t freeze).

Ok, so where did I go wrong? I can tell you, because I’m nice like that. It all starts with trying to kind of be healthy. Now I have no problem with ice cream, I mean it’s ice cream, it’s not supposed to be healthy, but I figured I’ll try something different, and a little more healthy, and see how it comes out. So instead of the 2 cups of heavy whipping cream the recipe called for, I figured I’ll try and replace half of that with this fat free half and half I saw at Trader Joe’s. I don’t even know how they can make fat free half and half, I mean it’s half milk and half cream, but I figured hey, lets see what happens.

I took the berries that we had picked the other day, put it into a bowl, and smashed the hell out of them

Blackberries and raspberries

Side point – when going blackberry picking, they tell you to pick the berries that are totally black, no red, because the red parts are really tart. Well, I’m telling you, every berry we picked we made sure that they were all black (yah, yah, yah, I know, I’m color blind – well Ayelet isn’t, so there!), and here you’ll notice there are a few red berries on the blackberries (besides the obvious red raspberries). I have no idea how that happened, and I wonder if it’s because I put them in the fridge after we had picked them (which they told us to do)…I have no other explanation…any ideas?

I set that aside, and combined a cup of heavy cream, and a cup of half and half, and threw in 1/3 cup of sugar (plus about two more tablespoons, because these berries were tart…), and heated it all up on a low flame, until the sugar was dissolved. Took it off the heat, added a pinch of salt, and 2 tablespoons of vodka, and set aside in an ice bath to cool.

When it was cold, I threw it in the ice cream maker with the berries

and let it go for 25 minutes.

Put it in a container (minus what I ate then), and let it freeze away

The next day, when I took it out of the freezer it looked like this:

The picture doesn’t do it justice, but it was like a rock.

Oh well…better luck next time.

I posted the original recipe (the one with only heavy whipping cream)

______________________________________________________________________________________

Summer Berry Ice Cream

1 1/4 cups berries (blueberries, raspberries, strawberries, blackberries – whatever – combined…I used blackberries and raspberries.)

2 cups heavy cream

1/3 cup sugar, plus 2 tablespoons, as needed

1/8 teaspoon kosher salt

2 tablespoons vodka.

1. In a bowl, mash berries with a fork or potato masher until just slightly chunky.

2. In a saucepan over medium-low heat, bring cream to a simmer with 1/3 cup sugar and the salt. Taste berries and if they are very tart, add 2 tablespoons sugar to saucepan. Simmer, stirring occasionally, until sugar dissolves. Transfer to a bowl, stir in vodka and place in refrigerator or in an ice bath to chill.

3. When cold, pour mixture into ice cream machine. Add berries and churn according to manufacturer’s directions. Transfer to a container and freeze until solid, at least 2 hours. Let sit at room temperature for 5 to 10 minutes before serving, or in refrigerator for 15 to 30.

6 thoughts on “Raspberry Blackberry Ice cream

    1. a little bit of both…mainly the consistency was off, being that it was frozen solid, but the taste was a little off also, but i’m not sure what it was…it mite have been that i heated up the cream/half and half too much, or that i heated up the half and half at all (being that it’s probably all chemicals)…there was something weird about the taste

      Like

  1. Maybe the fat-free half & half (mamash a stirah!) has a higher water content. Too much water = too many ice crystals = hard ice cream. I think that the non-fat milk content of the offending ingredient essentially put creamy tasting water into your recipe. That would account for the hard consistency and the funky taste.

    Like

  2. i find a beautiful lesson so fitting Elul in this post. The down right Aneevus of your admitting to making a mistake is something we can all learn from. BH we have this post not only for delicious treats, but to uplift our characteristics as well 🙂
    amazing no?

    Like

Leave a Reply

