Radishy Corn Salad (or Corny Radish Salad?)

Does that name even make sense? I found this little recipe on-line at One Perfect Bite, and I’m not the biggest corn salad guy, but this was pretty darn good, and it’s a pretty good side dish for Shabbos, or for a bbq.

Truth be told, I was never a big corn guy, they always are getting stuck in your teeth, and I don’t believe in flossing anyway, so there are pieces still there…I joke! You better floss, or I will find you.So like I said, I never was a big corn guy, I never knew that you could just cut the kernels off fresh corn and eat it…without any cooking. For this recipe you just cut off the kernels, and add with the rest of the ingredients. I was considering grilling the corn for that added flavor, but decided to go the lazy route instead.

I took the corn, shucked them, and sliced off the kernels

I took out my mandolin, and sliced up the radishes as thin as I could, and threw them into the bowl with the corn.

Then I took took the seeded jalapeno, the scallions, and the cilantro, and brought them to the party

Cilantro

To the salad, I added the olive oil, and the fresh lime juice.

Mixed it all together, and let it sit in the fridge over night so the flavors can blend together. Served it at room temperature Shabbos afternoon, and it was quite tasty.And that’s all.

I’ll let you out early today.

Radishy Corn Salad or Corny Radish Salad or Salady Corn with Radish or maíz ensalada con rábanos

Ingredients:

4 cups fresh corn kernels (cut from about 4 ears)
3/4 cup thinly sliced radishes
6 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
3-1/2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
3 tablespoons olive oil
2 green onions, chopped
2 tablespoons minced seeded jalepeño chilies

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in large bowl. Season with salt and pepper. Refrigerate. Bring to room temperature before serving.

5 thoughts on “Radishy Corn Salad (or Corny Radish Salad?)

  1. I love the title!
    There is a Rebbeishe maaseh that in order to have as many dishes as possible at the Shabbos table, even though times were tight, the Rebbetzin made onion salad with radishes, and radish salad with onions.

    Like

  2. you obv have read my mind or opened my fridge! i have two ears of corn that i did not know what to do with! i also was not aware that you could eat corn raw..soo thank you kosher gastronome. is it ok that im not as rich as you and dont have a mandalin and i just slice it the old fashioned way?

    Like

    1. well im glad you’re educated and know that the inca’s, as a sign of opulence used to wear mandolins around the necks of their cats…yeah it’s fine, try and get them thin…or if you want you can cut them and leave them in water overnight (that was a joke, but do you remember when mommy used to do that?)

      Like

Leave a Reply

