Chatasi Ani Mazkir Hayom

Ok, so the other day I was walking through the supermarket, and came upon some canned San Marzano tomatoes, and for some reason, I decided to check what the hechsher is, and guess what? There is no hechsher! Which is probably why it tasted so good when I made the Baked Rigatoni Soprano

I called the Star-k and they said canned stuff need a hechsher, and then I saw this article on line (which I haven’t read yet, but I saw the gist being that canned stuff need a hechsher) so that particular brand of San Marzano didn’t have a hechsher, but San Marzano is a region in Italy, and the tomatoes come from there, so there are probably other canned tomatoes from there, but I don’t know. Or you can just buy the regular canned tomatoes, I won’t tell anyone…

or if you want you can peel and seed your own tomatoes

8 thoughts on “Chatasi Ani Mazkir Hayom

  1. it’s so ironic that this happened, when you wrote this post i was wondering if the tomato was kosher, but i thought if you used it , you must have checked, and i thought you would make fun of me for asking, arthur schwartz always mentioned using this brand of tomato and you know how you all hated his show.

    Like

  2. The Vaad must have something against the volcanic soil in the San Marzano region, which lends a particularly nice balance of sweetness to acidity. Rabbis….

    Like

    1. Well they are pretty good, although I’m no tomato connoisseur, so I wonder if I would be able to tell the difference between San Marzano, and non San Marzano…
      I’m still gonna look to see if I find any kosher ones, but if I don’t I might have to try and peel whole tomatoes…we’ll just have to wait and see…stay tuned

      Like

Leave a Reply

