Rotini Pasta with Veggies

I know, I know, it’s been a while since I last posted, and I apologize for that. I can imagine all my 20 21 readers sitting by their computers, waiting anxiously. Biting their nails, not sure how to tackle the rest of the day with out the amazingly humorous blog that is the kosher gastronome…I feel your pain, I truly do.

And to make matters worse, I bet all of you out there were expecting some posts about what I made on Rosh Hashana, something delectably delicious. Something worth remembering for next year, or possibly to make on Sukkos, but alas, I have to disappoint you, yet again. We only made one meal over the new year, and there was plenty of good eats to go around, but I didn’t take any pictures as I was rushing to make all of it on Tuesday. I’m sorry…I hang my head in shame.

So after such an intro, how can I get back on the horse? How can I turn things around, and keep my loyal, amazing, and super smart readers coming back? Well for one, I’m posting this pasta dish which lemme tell you, is pretty darn good. It’s different than your typical pasta dish, and I guess you can say is just that much more “healthier” since it has all those vegetables in there.

Plus, I’ll try and get better at remembering to take pictures, and post some of the stuff that you guys truly want.

On to the pasta – as usual, it’s a pretty simple dish. I found this recipe on “anne’s food,” one of the seemingly thousands of flood blogs I read. It’s seriously an addiction…I add like 2 different blogs a week to my google reader.

I used rainbow rotini, which I thought were pretty cool, and were on sale (I guess other people aren’t as fascinated as I am with rainbow rotini…oh well, their loss)

I put the pasta into boiling water, and for the final three minutes I dropped in the sugar snap peas and broccolli.

While this was going, I chopped up a zucchini, and sauteed them in some olive oil

Before I drained the pasta, I took a ladle of pasta water out, and put it into the pan with zucchini.

I grated and juiced a lemon and put it in the pan, along with cream cheese, parmesan cheese, salt and pepper, and let it thicken up.

When it was nice and thick, I added the drained pasta with broccoli and snap peas to the pan.

Stir to combine, and add salt and pepper if needed. Remove from heat and add some shredded fresh basil.

And enjoy

Rotini Pasta with Veggies

adapted from Anne’s Food

Ingredients

  • 1 box of pasta
  • 1 broccoli stand, divided into small florets
  • 1 small zucchini, diced
  • 1 package of sugar snap peas
  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup cream cheese
  • 2 Tablespoons grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 lemon – zest and juice
  • basil, a good handful, shredded
  • salt, pepper

Directions

  1. Boil the pasta in lighty salted water.
  2. With three minutes remaining on the pasta, add the broccoli and the sugar snap peas and let them cook along.
  3. Heat up some olive oil in a skillet. Dice the zucchini and sautee it in the olive oil
  4. Right before draining the pasta, ladle out about a cup of the water into the skillet, and add the cream cheese, parmesan cheese, and salt and pepper. Stir until it it’s smooth, and let it cook for 5-10 minutes to thicken up.
  5. When the sauce is thickened, add the pasta and veggies to the skillet, and toss to coat
  6. Garnish with shredded basil leaves

13 thoughts on “Rotini Pasta with Veggies

  1. As far as healthy — try it with Whole Wheat pasta and serve with Salmon. Everyone will think its healthy, and you can even slip in some butter!

    Like

Leave a Reply

