Rib Eye Filet Roast

 

So there I was, in 7 mile before Sukkos, trying to decide what meat dish we should make for one of the meals, and I was literally going up and down the meat aisle trying to figure it out. Nothing doing. Whenever we’re in a bind to try and decide what meat to make, somehow we always end up with corned beef, because it’s so easy to make. Just drop in boiling water, and let it simmer away…what could be easier? But I’m so sick of making the same thing, by now you should know – I needed to do something different…what I needed was to experiment.

Along came this bing hunk-o-frozen meat. It wasn’t even in the meat aisle. It was this “rib eye filet roast” pre frozen, from South America (or at least that’s what the label said, and right next to it, it said from Costa Rica…ya…), and it was really cheap, like $5 a pound. I asked Ayelet what she thought, and she wasn’t so enthusiastic about it. Either way, I bought one of these, and figured, we’ll see what happens.

I let it defrost in my fridge, and I was actually pretty surprised how quick it took to defrost, and as usual I had the task of transforming this poor piece of cow into something edible.

When I first took it out, I noticed two things. One – was how long it was, which meant it wouldn’t really fit into any pot that I owned. And the other thing I noticed, was this long piece of fat/tendon/connective tissue/whatever on the top of it. Now whenever meat has that on it you want to make sure to “score” the meat, ie slice some slashes through it, like this:

the reason being – meat (aka muscle) and connective tissue cook differently, and while both will contract when heated, the connective tissue will contract much more than the muscle, and since the tissue is one continuous piece, it will pull the whole meat with it. By scoring the meat, you break up connective tissue, so it won’t pull it as much. A good example of this is flank steak, which also has a large piece of connective tissue on it, and a lot of times, the butcher will score it for you, with four scores and seven years ago. (A new low ladies and gentleman!!)

Now it was on to the “how do I cook this dang thing” part.

I had two options – low and slow, or high and quick.

I really like the low and slow method, which basically lets the meat cook really slow (gee, whod’a thunk), and lets the collagen break down, making a very tender meat. The way I usually do that, is by cooking it in some water, in a dutch oven and let it cook away for 3 hours or so. Problem was – I couldn’t fit this thing into my dutch oven, so that was out.

So the other option it was. I preheated the oven to 425, took the meat out, patted it dry, and let it sit out and come to room temperature (this bought me some time, so I could figure out what to put on it).

I decided to chop up some shallots, and garlic, and combine it with olive oil, salt and pepper.

I then smeared it all over the meat

I know I threw in other stuff into the mix, but for the life of me I can’t remember what (I’m pretty sure I threw in some red wine vinegar, some Worcestershire sauce, and some molasses…why? I have no idea)

I put it on a baking tray, and let it roast flipping every 30 minutes or so, until a thermometer said 150-ish (approximately 1.5 hours). Since it will continue to cook outside the oven a little, and medium is 160, I figured that’s a good place to take it out, but do as you please.

And that’s all she wrote.

Rib Eye Filet Roast

Ingredients

  • Rib Eye Filet Roast
  • Olive Oil
  • 5 Shallots
  • 5 cloves of Garlic
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Directions

  1. Pre heat oven to 425
  2. Let meat defrost in fridge, and when ready to make, let it come to room temperature
  3. Pat it dry with paper towels, and sprinkle salt and pepper on it
  4. Combine olive oil, garlic, shallots, salt and pepper, and rub the mixture all over the meat, and let rest for 30 minutes
  5. Let meat roast, turning every 30 minutes, until meat thermometer inserted into thickest part registers 150-155
  6. Let meat rest for 15 minutes, and serve, or if you want, let it come down to room temperature and put in fridge (without slicing, so you can slice it when it’s cold, which is much easier)

13 thoughts on “Rib Eye Filet Roast

    1. Ya ya…I’m assuming you’re referring to your claim that south american meat dry out easier…
      I’m pretty sure it was a little drier than I’d like because of how long it was in the oven warming up (and still it wasn’t “dried out”, just a tad dry)

      Like

  1. There is so much talk about connective tissue I thought this was a histology lecture. Is there a quiz on Monday?
    Looks delectable..

    Like

Leave a Reply

