Ribs

Ribs, seriously need I say more?

You really can’t mess these up. Ribs are so delicious, seriously, why aren’t we eating it for breakfast lunch and supper? I can hear you saying to yourself: tsk tsk tsk, they’re so unhealthy for you. Now, while you may be right, put a plate of ribs in front of the healthiest eater, and their supposed diet seriously goes out the window faster than ______ (li’l help? insert something funny, I’m suffering from some writers block here). The next objection you might be saying to me is: Noss-master-flex, ribs are super expensive, I can’t afford that. Well fret not, if you lived in Baltimore, you can run on over to Wasserman and they have ribs for $1.99 a pound, just tell them to give you “The Kosher Gastronome special,” and when they ask you what the heck you’re talking about, ask them for the aptly named “$1.99 ribs.” They may be a great butchery, but they’re lacking in the creativity department.

So now that you’re back from the butcher thoroughly confused, let’s get cooking. These ribs are super simple, and amazing. I even drank the gravy for breakfast this morning (ok that’s a lie, even I have my limits). I got this recipe from my mom, who when I once told her that I made the ribs recipe that she gave me, she had no idea what I was talking about, but I have the recipe card she wrote it down on, so there!

Anyway, like I said, these here ribs are really easy. All you have to do is mix 4 ingredients together, pour over the ribs, bake, and turn into your inner neanderthal.

Combine 1/4 cup orange juice, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup ketchup, and 3 tablespoons mustard.

and pour over meat.

This recipe is easily doubled, tripled, whatever. I actually went 1 cup of oj, ketchup, brown sugar, and 3/4 cup of mustard, which is 12 tablespoons (4 tablespoons=1/4 cup)

Bake covered at 350 for an hour and a half, and another 30 minutes uncovered.

You can make these a day ahead, store it in the fridge, and just warm it up before serving. Don’t be freaked out when you take them out of the fridge and the ribs are sitting in one big block of fat, that’s normal. What makes ribs so amazing is that it has a ton of fat, and as we know, fat has the flavor. So embrace it, and drink it for breakfast.

Ribs

Ingredients:

  • Ribs
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 3 tablespoons mustard

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 350
  2. Sprinkle the ribs with salt and pepper to taste
  3. Combine the orange juice, brown sugar, ketchup, and mustard, and pour over ribs
  4. Cover, and bake for hour and a half, and then another 30 minutes uncovered.
3 thoughts on “Ribs

Leave a Reply

