Garlic Ginger Wings

Here’s the dealio, I really wasn’t sure what to post.

On the one hand, I have this wings recipe, which is awesome, and I served it during the Jets amazing victory over the Pats last Sunday, and I figured the super bowl is coming, so y’all are gonna need some super recipes for the big game. However, I just did a wings recipe, and I don’t have such great pictures for these wings. I also have another few recipes I need to get around to, but we’re talking wings here people…so…wings it is. Convincing argument isn’t it.

So for all of you who need a recap on wings, go ahead and click on these magical letters.

I kept these healthy. Yeah in my own retarded universe, this is called  healthy. I guess I should say healthier, because like last time these were roasted in the oven as opposed to deep frying them (however fear not my fellow comrades, I will get around to deep frying some wings one day, and it will be phenomenal). However, I did do something a little different to get them a little crispier.

Like the previous wings recipe, I got these wings from FoodWishes. If you’re a fan of the ‘gnome (as we’re called in certain circles…I’m not sure where, but I’m sure somewhere), you’ll notice I make a lot of stuff from that website. It’s a great sight, and to be honest, I think it was the first food blog I ever followed, so it’s a little nostalgic if you’re weird like me.

Anywhoo, to make these wings, start by separating the wings into the drum, and the flat, and this time, we’re gonna coat the wings in oil, hot sauce (Frank’s), salt and pepper.

and then we dredge the wings in some flour

wings aren’t really that photogenic

The rest is pretty much the same, roast the wings on high (450) for 40-60 minutes flipping once in middle, make a sauce and toss the wings in the sauce to coat it. It’s mainly the sauce that makes the wings, and what a sauce this was.

To make the sauce, combine minced garlic, ginger, some chili sauce

(which looks like this:

I used that one in the middle, which is a chili garlic sauce…if you don’t have that, you can put in some red pepper flakes instead.)

Add 1/2 cup rice wine vinegar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, and a little bit of soy sauce. Throw it all in a pot

bring it to a simmer, and set aside until the wings are done.

When they’re done, dump half the wings in a bowl, and pour over half the sauce, and toss to combine, and then dump the other half of the wings, and other half of the sauce, and toss it all. A before, let it sit a few minutes, and then toss it again, to even ly distribute everything, and then feast away youngen.

And as alway Go Jets

Garlic Ginger Wings

Ingredients:

  • 5 pounds chicken wings
  • salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste
  • 3 tbsp Frank’s hot sauce
  • 2 tbsp veg oil
  • flour

For the sauce:

  • 3 crushed garlic cloves
  • 2 tbsp minced ginger
  • 1 tbsp chili sauce (or 1/2 tsp hot pepper flakes)
  • 1/2 cup rice vinegar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp soy sauce

Directions:

  1. Toss wings with oil,hot sauce, salt and pepper.
  2. Pour flour in a big bag, and pour the wings in there so you can dredge them easily
  3. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil, and spray some oil on it, and pre-heat the oven to 450
  4. Place the wings on a single layer, and roast for 40-60 minutes, flipping once, until crispy
  5. While the wings are roasting, make the sauce – mince the garlic and ginger, and add it to a pot along with the chili sauce, vinegar, brown sugar, and soy sauce, and let it come to a simmer, and turn it off, and reserve.
  6. When wings are ready, dump half the wings in a bowl, along with half the sauce, and toss to combine, and then add the rest of the wings, and the rest of the sauce, and toss.

4 thoughts on “Garlic Ginger Wings

  1. Sweet (or should I say spicy) post. I’ve been hearing about this Sriracha for a good year or so now. Do you know anything about that funny hechser?

    Like

    1. Look for a bottle that has an RCC sticker label, and it is good, L’kol Hadayos. Otherwise, you have different opinions of that hechsher.

      Like

Leave a Reply

