Jalapeño Poppers

Mmmmmmmmm, cheeeesy

Al rite, so now that you’re sufficiently hungry after yesterday’s post, I present to you jalapeno poppers.

I’ve seen these a while back, and I dunno why, but there was something about it, that made me want to make them. I feel like I’m gonna get two very different responses: 1) jalapenos?! awesome, I love spicy foods 2) Jalapenos?! I hate spicy foods. To be honest, I wasn’t sure what I would think about them. I do like spicy foods, but I don’t love it, and would this be too spicy?? Well there’s only one way to find out.

Onward!

First step is prepping the jalapenos. We need to turn them from capsicum to cheese-carrying-device, and you can either chop them in half, or chop off the top 1/3rd of the pepper. Obviously by chopping them in half, you’ll have more to stuff, but chopping off the top 1/3 leaves a better carrying device, so I went with that option (if you do the second option, you can use the top 1/3 and mince it into the filling for a spicier cheese filling, but that’s your call). I also figured not many people would be daring enough to try it out.

I took the peppers, and lopped off the top 1/3, and scooped out the seeds and ribs, like so

Capsaicin is the compound that we can thank for a peppers spiciness. It’s a natural irritant, and our body responds to it as such, however, our senses like to be jolted every once in a while, and that’s why people like the kick of spicy foods. So whenever dealing with peppers, they store all their capsaicin in their seeds and ribs, so if you want it spicier keep them in. Also, being that capsaicin is an oil based compound, washing your hands with water after you’re done handling the seeds will do nothing, which is why some people will put on gloves when chopping them up. I didn’t have any gloves lying around, but I saw another trick, which is to spray your hands with some cooking spray, and then wash your hands with some soap right after you’re done. I still would be careful touching your eyes afterwards, because trust me it’s painful, I’ve done it.

To make the filling – mix together the cream cheese, minced onion, cilantro, cumin, and some salt

I know there are some people out there who don’t like cumin (hey dad), but it really gives a nice subtle flavor in the background, and I really think you should keep it in.

Then stuff your peppers, and line them on a baking sheet

Then top each with a slab of cheese.

I really like monteray jack cheese, and saw this colby-jack cheese, that was the perfect size to top the jalapenos

So, slice them up, and top, like this:

bake at 375 for 20-30 minutes, and that’s it

Magnifico!

Yes, I realize I’m 4 years old

By the way – as for the taste and flavor of these puppies..they were amazing. Totally not too spicy at all, in fact they were mildly spicy at best (I didn’t put in the extra jalapeño that I cut off), and that cooling sensation of the cream cheese, mixed with the hint of cumin, and the slightly sweet taste of the spicy pepper – it was awesome.

Jalapeno Poppers

Ingredients:

  • 10-12 jalapeño peppers
  • 1/4 cup minced onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 3/4 cup cream cheese
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon salt (more or less to taste)
  • 2 ounces jack cheese, cut into 2 1/2-inch long sticks

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375°.
  2. Slice the top 1/3 off of the jalapeño (or slice it in half), and scrape out all the seeds and ribs from each jalapeño with a spoon.
  3. Mix together all the filling ingredients except the jack cheese sticks.
  4. Pack the filling into the peppers and nestle a stick of jack cheese onto the filling of each one. Arrange the peppers on a foil-lined baking sheet and bake for 20-30 minutes, or until the cheese is bubbly and lightly browned, and the peppers are cooked.
  5. Allow to cool for 5 minutes before serving.

7 thoughts on “Jalapeño Poppers

  1. I am standing and applauding! SEND SOME!!!!!
    I did see a similar recipe in Bon Apetit, but it was deep fried. I guess you don’t go for that… 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

