Buffalo Bread

I know you’ve all been waiting anxiously for this recipe, and that’s why it’s taken me so long to post it. So as all you loyal followers know, this was the last thing I made for our super bowl party, and it’s definitely the most unique. For the rest of you non-loyal folk, who are wondering what the heck buffalo bread is, I’ll explain. Basically it’s bread that tastes like buffalo wings, sounds awesome? Well guess what – it was.

To say this recipe is easy to throw together is an understatement. To say this recipe is not-healthy is an even bigger understatement, but it’s the super bowl right? What else are you going to serve, carrots? My point exactly.

Let’s get started shall we?

First go out to the local supermarket and purchase yourself one loaf of bread. Like so

Now I know there are those of you out there, that will harp on the fact that: “what, you didn’t make the loaf of bread yourself?!” And to be totally honest – those are the pessimists. It’s like seeing the glass half empty. Instead – view my undertaking, and say: “wow, what a way to transform, a rather simple, store bought bread, and make it splendiferous.” That’s what I do, I take things from good and transform them into gooderestest…est.

Mix together your filling, which is composed of – mayo! butter! sour cream! garlic! scallions! and black pepper! Ahhhthankyouverymuch.

But wait there’s more – now add your mozzarella

and mix away.

Now slice open the bread like a book, and you want to toast the bread a little. Pop the bread in the oven at like 425 for 5 minutes or so, just to get it a little toasty.

Then spread a whole lot of hot sauce on the bread, and top with cheese topping

We’re ready to bake away, but what would a buffalo wing recipe be without blue cheese? So go ahead, sprinkle some blue cheese on top, I won’t say anything.
Now the thing about blue cheese is, it stinks. Kind of a mix between socks, a wet dog, and something you’d find in the back of your fridge. Not the most appealing thing in the entire world, however, in the right proportions it can really add a nice kick to some stuff. So if you’re daring, and you want to give it a go, I really suggest putting some blue cheese on the bread. Don’t get too daring, just a few crumbles per bread is enough.

Set the bread on a baking tray, and put it under the broiler 2-3 minutes until the cheese is nice and bubbly. Let the bread rest, and cut it into sticks, and serve.

Buffalo Bread

Ingredients:

  • 1 Loaf bread
  • 1/2 Cup mayonnaise
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2 Tablespoons sour cream
  • 1/2 Cup hot sauce
  • 1 Cup scallions, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • Fresh ground pepper
  • 8 ounces mozzarella, shredded
  • 4 ounces blue cheese

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 425, and slice bread open like a book, and toast for 5 minutes.
  2. Mix together the mayo, butter, sour cream, mozzarella, scallions, garlic, and pepper.
  3. Spread the hot sauce over both slices of bread.
  4. Spread the mayo-cheese mixture of both slices, and dot with pieces of blue cheese
  5. Broil for 2-3 minutes.

 

12 thoughts on “Buffalo Bread

    1. I don’t think it was too spicy…traditional buffalo wings call for Frank’s which I didn’t have, so I used whatever I did have…and I would say the biggest non-kid friendly aspect of this was the bleu/blue/azul cheese

      Like

    2. Yeah no jokes, 7mile even started carrying blocks of parm On Feb 16, 2011 4:50 PM, “Nossi Fogel” wrote: > I don’t think it was too spicy…traditional buffalo wings call for Frank’s > which I didn’t have, so I used whatever I did have…and I would say the > biggest non-kid friendly aspect of this was the bleu/blue/azul cheese

      Like

Leave a Reply

