Hamantashen with home made Nutella

Hello, and welcome to another edition of: How can I make a huge mess in the kitchen! I’m your host Nossi, and today we’re making Hamantashen, and to make it especially messy, we’re going to make some homemade nutella spread. All right, let’s get cooking. Truth is every time I cook/bake in the kitchen I make a huge mess, but that’s half the fun – watching your wife clean it all up! Amiright? I kid, I kid.

Purim – the time when we celebrate our heritage by eating the hat of the guy who tried to kill us…makes sense. But you know me, I’m not one to decline making some food, especially if it gives me an excuse to make some home made nutella spread. I’ve been looking for an excuse for some time now, and this was the perfect thing.

Ok first thing first – the hamantashen dough. I decided to use shortening instead of margarine this time, basically because it’s room temperature, and didn’t want to wait for the margarine to come to room temp before creaming the sugar. As a general rule of thumb, if you’re making a batter (for like cookies or cakes) you want the margarine to be at room temperature, so it blends well with the sugar forming more of a paste than a clumpy mess. Either way, take the shortening and sugar, and cream them.

Then add the egg, water, vanilla, and flour, form a dough, and wrap it in plastic wrap and put in the fridge for 30 minutes.

When you’re ready, roll it out, and cut out circles, to prepare them for the filling of your choice (obviously, nutella, right???)

Ok, and now for the moment you’ve all been waiting for. I’m like the grocery store, I put the good stuff in the back, I make you have to go through all the other stuff to get to the milk, or in our case, the nutella, which is much better. Much like a lot of things in life, this seems much harder to make than it actually it is.

First, go out to the field, and gather yourself some hazelnuts

and roast them for like 8-10 minutes at 450, until they are nice and fragrant

Then with your asbestos coated hands, rub the hazelnuts between your hands to remove the outer skin. Or alternatively, you can wait a little, and not burn your hands, which probably would have been the smarter thing to do. It’s ok if there’s some skin on them leftover.

Now to make the spread. A few things though – first, the recipe calls for powdered sugar, and I made a mistake and put in regular sugar, so the final product was gritty; not bad, but gritty. Second thing is – the recipe calls for the addition of oil, after it’s all mixed together. So I thought to myself : “self, the oil the recipe calls for is to make everything all smooth and nice, right? Well, why not half the amount of cocoa powder, and replace it with melted chocolate, right? Because actual chocolate is the cocoa powder, plus the cocoa liquor which is essentially fat. I’m a genius right?” And yeah, I asked myself if I’m a genius.

First add the hazelnuts, and blend for like 5 minutes, until it becomes a paste.

Then, melt the chocolate chips (thinking back, if I were to do the same mistake and use regular sugar as opposed to powdered sugar [I’m stubborn like that] then add it here, and melt it all together), and add it to the food processor, along with the cocoa powder, vanilla, and like 3 crystals of salt, and blend it all together.

And keep going until you get the right consistency you want. You might need to add oil to thin it out (I did), so just add little by little (make sure it’s a neutral oil, or better yet, you can use hazelnut oil). And that’s it for the nutella.

Then to make the hamantashen (by the way, after getting this far in the post, I still haven’t decided how to spell hamantashen. Is it: hamAntashen or hamEntashen. Also, is it hamantashen? or hamantasChen? I have no idea), just drop a 1/2 teaspoon of filling in the middle, and make the folds. It might help to wet the edges a little so the folds stay when it bakes. And bake at 350 for 20 minutes.

That’s it.

Happy Purim.

Hamantashen

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick of shortening
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 3 T water
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 2 cups flour

Directions:

  1. Cream sugar and shortening together, until smooth, and then add in egg, and mix to combine.
  2. Add in the rest of the ingredients, and form a dough.
  3. Wrap in plastic and set aside in the fridge for 30 minutes.
  4. To make the hamantashen, roll out the dough, and cut circles.
  5. Drop 1/2-1 teaspoon of filling, and fold them up (it might help to wet your hands to coerce the dough to stick together)
  6. Place on baking sheet 1 inch apart, and bake for about 20 minutes at 350.

Homemade Hazelnut-Chocolate Spread (ie Nutella)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups raw hazelnuts
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder (I used dutch processed, more on that another time)
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips melted (or if you want, you can use 1/2 cup of cocoa powder, and add more oil at the end)
  • 1 cup powdered sugar (see above about using regular sugar)
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • 1/8 t salt
  • oil (neutral, or hazelnut)

Directions:

  1. Line a baking sheet with the hazelnuts, and roast at 450 for 8-10 minutes, or until fragrant.
  2. Toss the roasted hazelnuts in the food processor, and process for about 5 minutes, until it’s smooth-ish
  3. Add the rest of the ingredients, and process until smooth, adding oil as necessary.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Hamantashen with home made Nutella

  1. Oh, and while I’m here commenting on my own post – I do realize that it’s like 3 minutes before shabbos, but I had to get this post in before purim, and I’m still on San Francisco time, so all is good
    Good Shabbos

    Like

  2. hey looks really good, beautiful pics. i have a dough recipe i love already but i’d like to try this dough. im going to make a very post purim small batch! Thanks 4 sharing

    Like

Leave a Reply

