Banana Pomegranate Coffee Cake

IMG_3958

So you know how when the only tool you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail? Well the same goes if you’re trying to figure out what to do with pomegranate molasses. Everything looks like it can go with pomegranate molasses. Pomegranate coffee?? Sure why not. Pomegranate tomato soup? Definitely. Pomegranate pesto pizza knish? Yummtastic. But with so many options to chose from, how was I to decide what to make? I couldn’t sleep, I was pacing to and fro with nothing but pomegranate on my mind. And then it hit me – Banana pomegranate coffee cake. Let’s break it down.

Why banana? Because I had 5 over-ripe bananas in the fridge, and needed to do something with them.

Why coffee cake? Because I love coffee and I love cake, that was a no brainer.

(Side point, I never understood why it’s called coffee cake, there’s no coffee in it, and what? it goes well with coffee? What cake doesn’t? But I digress.)

Anyway, pretty much everyone who I asked what they thought about the combination of flavors, totally didn’t agree with me. They all felt it was too many flavors, and that it wouldn’t mesh well together. Well guess what, they were wrong!

To me this dish was more an experiment in flavor combination, and less an experiment on the consistency of the cake. So I used the first coffee cake recipe I can find (it called for blueberries), and just substituted bananas. The recipe also called for sour cream, which I used the parve type.

So as with any cake that has sugar and a fat in it, we start by creaming the two together, and the best way to do that is with everything at room temperature. After the margarine and sugar are nicely integrated, add the egg, and egg yolks and mix to combine.

In another bowl, add the bananas and sour cream, and mush them all together. Then add the banana mixture to the sugar-margarine mixture, and mix them all together.

IMG_3940 IMG_3941

And now it is time in sprockets for when we add the dry ingredients. Mix together the flour and the baking powder, and with the mixer on low, add the flour slowly until incorporated, making sure to not over mix the batter.

IMG_3943

Then pour the batter into your pan, and I figured, since the pomegranate molasses was pretty thick (I had over reduced it some, as I’m sure you knew, since you read the last post!), I first needed to warm it up so it would pour out of the container (yeah, it was pretty thick), and spread the remaining molasses throughout the banana cake thusly:

IMG_3945

I tried to spell my name in it, but it didn’t really work out so well.

Once that was all done, it was time to officially deem this cake a coffee cake, and give it it’s proper regalia: a crumb topping. Mix some margarine, sugar, and cinnamon together and presto chango – you can now transform anything you want into a coffee cake.

IMG_3947

Bake at 350 for like 30-35 minutes, or until the center is set, and then allow to cool before devouring.

So here’s the deal, once people were telling me that a banana pomegranate coffee cake sounded disgusting, I had to make it to find out for myself whether it was going to be an epic disaster or not. Well my take on the cake (I’m a poet, and I didn’t even know I was) was that, the actual cake itself could have been a better consistency, I felt like it was too gummy, and I’m not 100% sure why, however, the actual flavor combinations that were going on here, were great. I really think the banana went well with the pomegranate molasses, and crumb topping, and I definitely would try it again.

I’ll post the recipe I used, but if you’re actually planning on making this at home, I would suggest (possibly incorrectly), to just take any good banana cake recipe you have, and continue with the rest of the ingredients, and I’m sure it will be fine.

Banana Pomegranate Coffee Cake

Ingredients –

    • 1 and a 1/4 cup sugar (divided)
    • 3/4 cup margarine (divided), cut into small pieces, at room temperature
    • 1 large egg
    • 2 large egg yolks
    • 2 cups sour cream (I used the parve one)
    • 4-5 over ripe bananas
    • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
    • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
    • Whatever leftover Pomegranate Molasses you have (if I had to measure it, it was probably 1/3 of a cup)
    • 2 T Cinnamon

Directions –

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Cream 1 cup of sugar, and margarine, until smooth, and then add the egg and egg yolks and mix until incorporated.
  3. Mush together bananas and sour cream, and add to sugar-margarine mixture, and mix until combined
  4. Whisk together flour and baking powder, and slowly incorporate into wet ingredients, until just combined.
  5. Place batter into well greased (or with parchment paper) loaf pan, and pour the pomegranate molasses over top, and swirl it in like the princess you are (is anyone even reading this?)
  6. Make crumb topping by combining remaining margarine, and remaining sugar with cinnamon, and mush (is it me or have I said “mush” a lot in this post?) it with your hands until it’s the right consistency, and sprinkle over the batter.
  7. Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until the center is set, and allow to cool, for at least 30 minutes before slicing it open.
6 thoughts on “Banana Pomegranate Coffee Cake

  1. Did the pomegranate keep its flavor through baking? Did you get the sweet/tark kick?
    Maybe another riff on this — bake the cake without the pom, then drizzle it on top at the end. When it cools, it will harden into a nice toffee-ish sort of glaze. I’d try it myself, but I have no mollasses left (I love the stuff straight!). Todah Rabbah for the inspiration!

    Like

  2. Do you have to use the sour cream? I would prefer it without the extra calories. What do you think? I like the idea of the pomegranate, since I found an entire brand new bottle I bought for absolutely no reason!

    Like

  3. u think ur such a chef with ur ‘flavor combination’
    p.s. it was prob gummy bc of the extra liquid (=the molasses)in the cake batter?

    Like

Leave a Reply

