Potato Frittata-ta-ta-ta-ta-ta-ta

What’s up friend?  I wish I was lying when I say, that I’ve been trying to sit down and type up a post for quite some time now, and I just couldn’t. I really don’t know what’s wrong with this little bundle of neurons in between my ears. I’ve been meaning to write up about the pastrami I made (which was pretty fabulous) and the scallion pancakes, and that beef po’ boy sandwich I made, among other things, but I don’t know. I guess what they say is true, Bloggin ain’t easy.

So please excuse me as I try to get back into form, and kick things off light, and kick it off right.

Anyway, fret not, because as far out as frittata might sound, it’s really just a fancy way of saying really big omelette. The awesome thing about frittatas are it’s one of those dishes that can be eaten for breakfast, lunch, and supper, all at once, like ice cream, or hot dogs, or herring. Now I know what you’re thinking, you’re saying, you came back to give us a recipe for an omelette? And the answer is: yes. Well, at least one that you can trick people into thinking it’s something else, by saying it’s a frittata, and if you really want to get fancy, you can call it a spanish tortilla, which is another name for this here puppy.

This breakfast/lunch/supper literally comes together in minutes. I started by sauteeing some onions, and potatoes until they were nice and tender. The trick at least for the potatoes, is to slice them into small matchsticks, so they cook quickly.

After the veggies were done, I set them aside in a bowl, and when cool, I combined it with 4 eggs, along with salt, pepper, and some cilantro.

I then poured it into the hot pan, and let it set up, and once the bottom was set, I put it under the broiler to set up the top. Then the only thing that’s needed is some time for the egg protein matrix to fully set up, and then it’s ready for you to cut into it. You don’t want to slice it too quick, or it will fall apart.

That’s it. If you want, you can top with some more cilantro, parmesan cheese, some sour cream, or pickled herring…whatever makes you happy.

Ok so that’s it for now. I do plan on trying to get around to actually posting some more stuff, and now that I’m officially unofficially finished school, (I  know, go me, right?), I hope to be able to actually not neglect all y’all.

Potato Frittata

Ingredients:

  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 small potato, sliced into thin matchsticks
  • Oil
  • 4 eggs
  • salt and pepper
  • Cilantro (you can use whatever herb you want; parsley, dill, whatever)

Directions:

  1. Sautee the onions and potatoes in oil until tender, and set aside to cool
  2. Whisk the eggs, salt, pepper, and cilantro together, and add in the cooled potato-onion mixture.
  3. Cook mixture over medium-high heat, until the bottom is set, and place the whole kit n’ caboodle under the broiler to set up the top
  4. Let the frittata rest at least 10 minutes, and then dive right on in
4 thoughts on “Potato Frittata-ta-ta-ta-ta-ta-ta

Leave a Reply

